arrow arrow
Joel Hale
Elizabeth Mitchell
James Lane
(Bef 1820-)
Mary Burton
(Bef 1825-)
William Hale
Mary Lane
(Cal 1845-1919)
Samuel Joel Hale


Family Links

Eveline Walker

Samuel Joel Hale 2

  • Born: 1882, New Zealand
  • Marriage: Eveline Walker in 1911 in New Zealand 1
  • Died: 1959, New Zealand 3


He worked as a Councillor in 1923 and resided at Rotorua, NZ. 4


Samuel married Eveline Walker in 1911 in New Zealand.1 (Eveline Walker was born before 1890.)


1 Registry of BDM (NZ), 1911/8038Eveline Walker Samuel Joel Hale.

2 Registry of BDM (NZ), 1882/2046Hale Samuel Joel MaryWilliam.

3 Registry of BDM (NZ), 1959/39519Hale Samuel Joel 77Y.

4 Web (Misc), The following extract suggests Samuel was a Rotorua Councillor in 1923.

6.1 Historical Overview
The Kauae Cemetery is part of the Rotohokahoka E Block. Title to this block of 50 acres was created in 1883. In June 1884, by order of Judge Clarke of the Native Land court, the title was issued in the names of fifteen owners or grantees, .......... Of the original 50 acres, 20 acres were set aside for a cemetery. After the cemetery had been in use for some thirty years a statute was passed in 1919 to allow the Judge of the Waiariki Native Land Court to make an order vesting the cemetery (on behalf of the Maori owners) in a board of trustees comprising an equal number of European and Ngati Whakaue representatives. The judge was also authorised to make rules and regulations for the conduct of the Cemetery. On 23 August 1923 Judge Harold Carr of the Native Land Court made an order vesting the Ngongotaha Cemetery in the first Board of Trustees, being made up of the following people:
Wiremu Kingi Atetini
Henry Pullar Ford
Paora Te Muera
Charles Turner
Amohia Rotohiko Haupapa
Samuel Joel Hale
The rules and regulations for the cemetery were also made by order of the court on the same date and published in the New Zealand Gazette on 5 June 1924. The rules specify the manner in which the members of the Cemetery Trust Board are to be appointed. The board was to be appointed by the judge of the Maori Land Court, and comprise:
• Three members of the Rotorua County Council (one of whom must be the chairman, with the other two being nominated by the chairman).
• Three members selected by the judge of the Maori Land Court from names submitted to him/her by members of Ngati Whakaue.